I Can’t Give You Anything but Love, Baby

grant.jpeg

The jazz standard in the screwball comedy “Bringing up Baby” keeps going through my head. You know, Glen Davis AKA Big Baby picked up his game and helped the Celtics beat the hot, hot Detroit Pistons.

What – you wanted me to talk about my abysmal picks in football this Wildcard Weekend? Well, at least I’m at 500. Better than a lot of teams this season finished with, right?

Surprises for me:

  1. The Skins fail to pull off yet another emotional win. Seahawks took it to them. I did say that on paper the Hawks were the pick, but we don’t get points for trying, do we?
  2. My one correct pick: Jags beat the Steelers. They almost blew their 18 point lead completely, but pulled it out.
  3. Eli (good Eli) of late showed up. Great play calling keeping the Bucs guessing. The grass stains on Garcia’s back told the story.
  4. Vince and the Titans dominated the first half of their game. Then kind of didn’t show up the second half. Or maybe it was my cool Chargers jersey…Charger pull it off.

I can’t give you anything but love, baby, that’s the one thing I’ve got plenty of baby… Did I mention those hot Celtics?

nba_g_davis_412.jpg

~ by jacqueline1230 on January 8, 2008.

3 Responses to “I Can’t Give You Anything but Love, Baby”

  1. Am I missing something? You picked the Chargers over the Titans and they won. That means you were batting .500, not to mix sports. Yeah, unfortunately, my boys blew it big time. Well, I’m still proud that they actually made it to the playoffs! The way they started out, and the way things went this season, I never thought it would happen. Hail to the Redskins!

  2. I was so proud of the Skins. Too much to ask them to rise above this season. WRT the rest of my picks, mixed metaphor works, batting .500 is okay I guess. I know a lot of MLB players would be happy with. But then, a lot of MLB players didn’t grow up with my Mom. 5 A’s, one B – it’s not “good work getting those A’s” but “what happened here?” (!)

    I thought a couple of the games were really entertaining. Watching the Jags w/particular interest, of course. Good poise for them to come back from blowing such a great lead.

    Did you catch LT calling the Chargers’ time out to avoid a penalty his QB was unaware of the implications or play clock. Rivers continues to telegraph everything he does which is not good.

    Looking forward to this weekend – GO PATS!

  3. Today, I just heard the sad, but not wholly unexpected news that Joe Gibbs is retiring as Head Coach and General Manager of the Washington Redskins. He’s still staying on as a “Special Advisor” to Dan Snyder. Not sure what that means. I can’t say I’m shocked, and I was looking forward to seeing what progress he could continue to make next year. I think Greg Williams has to have the inside line to replace Gibbs. Aside from his experience, both in the NFL and with the team, he gets $1M bonus if he’s not chosen to replace Gibbs when he leaves. Hopefully, we’ll find out at 3:00, when the team has its press conference.

Leave a Reply

 
