Mea Culpa to All; “Bay-watch” Begins; and My First UFC

I’s been way too long. Anyone who might still be hanging in, mahalo. Thank you. Grazie. Merci. One question: what the heck are you doing with your life? Bro, you got some thinking to do…but I really do appreciate you coming by.

Boston’s Lo-A Team the Greenvill Drive

My piece is still No-A as in appearance. Or, M.I.A.

But hope springs eternal. I’ve been thinking that my Greenville Drive piece was just this close to running and when it did, that would be a great time to resurrect the ol’ sports blog. All I can say is, thank god it’s not a baby I’m waiting on – sucker would be HUGE. But I did get paid, so presumably it really is going to run soon. Thanks Brian!

In the meantime, Celtics celebrations are over, they’re back to work. I liked the Espy’s “Top of the World” piece.

Recently, with the Sox stinking up the place and the Pats only in day five of camp…it’s slim pickings. Probably good for the rest of my writing.

But there is one thing I started to write about and thought it might be worth putting up.

My First UFC Ticket

Not live (are you kiddin?) but we watched a bunch of fights pretty close on the heels of the last boxing match I watched. Pacquiao v. Diaz – WBC lightweight title fight first. It reminded me of good, solid boxing from the old days.

I’ve been resisting the UFC phenomenon for a while now, it just happened that this event came closely on the heels of the Pacquiao v. Diaz fight. Maybe I was just in a bloodthirsty place…

My notes and memory are mostly long gone, but here’s a little Scooby snack for ya:

Tibau v. Stevenson – grapplers; all about the ground game.

Almeida v. Cote- BJJ v. striker

Jackson v. Griffin – freestyle

This fight card was perfect for an introduction to the various styles of martial arts, wrestling and boxing that are used by the mixed martial arts fighters. In each match you could see the strengths of one style when pitted against the other and the skills of the combatants in using or leveraging their defense of another. It seemed to me that the fighters had respect for each other and for each other’s discipline or technique. It was also clear these are not/(at least these matches) were not bar brawls set in a cage for bloodthirsty crowds.

Am I seeking out more UFC fights on tv? Not now. If I happen to hear of one coming up, I’ll probably tune in. It’s not really the comic choregraphed “professional wrestling” schlock that I thought it would be.

“Baywatch” Begins and Favre-watch drags on

This Boston Globe piece is good but the reader comments are better.

He still has Red Sox posters and the “onesie” that his Red Sox fan father had him in. He seemed poised and a little boring after Manny but I should remember my advice to others. He deserves to rise or fall on his own merits. There’s no way he’s replacing Manny’s bat. There’s no need to villify Manny, either. He’s not the smooth or boring interview but his authenticity is part of what made him unique in this day of agent fed pr spin stars. I mean, did you catch Brett Favre’s text message to the press? When did you hear that swamp rat talk like that? Only his agent talking there. If Green Bay fans forget how whiney Favre was before and arrogant that’s on them. Remember he smirked when asked why he wasn’t mentoring Rodgers? “not my job.”

He played high out of his mind and let’s see how many Superbowls did he take GB to? Oh that’s right, One. 1997 championship over the Pats. (ouch) Now his agent has put so many fine words in his mushy mouth that people think he’s being wronged. That’s brilliant manipulation of the press, the client, the situation. Your client comes out smelling sweet. Good job, Bus Cook.

~ by jacqueline1230 on August 2, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
